The National Hispanic Foundation (NHHF), the philanthropic arm of the National Hispanic Medical Association (NHMA), invites you to our 2020 Virtual Health Leaders and Scholars Awards Ceremony. During our ceremony, we are proud to announce the scholarship recipients from the Eastern and Western United States, as well as the Hispanic Health Leadership Awardees who inspire us with their leadership for change in healthcare for our community.

Hispanics are the largest ethnic group in the United States, yet, there is a dearth of Hispanic health professionals with cultural and linguistic skills to deliver quality care for this growing population. In addition, Federal, State, local government and private sector healthcare agencies have minimal Hispanic representation in top leadership positions who can develop policies and programs targeted to the Hispanic community. NHHF is responding to these challenges by developing this unique national scholarship program to reward students in health professional schools for exceptional academic performance, leadership, and commitment to serving the Hispanic community. We believe they are the future Hispanic leaders of our nation.

National Hispanic Health Foundation
2020 Virtual Hispanic Health Professional Student Scholarship Ceremony

Honoring Leaders

Ana Marie Argilagos

President and CEO
Hispanics in Philanthropy

Cristina Contreras, LMSW, MPA, FABC

Chief Strategy Officer
NYC Health + Hospitals/Jacobi/North Central Bronx
Executive Director
NYC Health + Hospitals/North Central Bronx

Eduardo Sanchez, MD, MPH

Chief Medical Officer for Prevention
American Heart Association

Lucila Tarin, MD

Director, Family Medicine Residency Program
Adventist Health - White Memorial

Ramiro Zuniga, MD, MBA, FAAFP

Medical Director
California Health and Wellness


2019 Scholar Winners

2018 Scholar Winners








Sylvia Preciado, MD


Alonzo Cantu
Bronx-Lebanon Hospital
Gina Miranda Diaz, DNP, MS/MPH
Priscilla Gonzalez-Leiva
Minerva and Raul Campos
Natalie Ibarra, MD
University of California Riverside School of Medicine
Pasadena Liver Center - Edward A. Mena, MD, FAASLD
Tony Alamo, MD