2023 New York Annual Hispanic Health Professional Student Scholarship Gala

Slideshow of photos from the NHHF gala

 Sheraton Times Square Hotel, New York, NY · November 30, 2023

Reception: 6:30 to 7:30 p.m. EST |  Awards Gala: 7:30 to 10:30 p.m. EST 

Thank you for joining us!

NHHF honors its next cohort of Scholarship Recipients and the following Hispanic Health Leadership Awardees:

  • Ramon Tallaj, MD, Chairman of the Board, SOMOS Community Care
  • Aletha Maybank, MD, MPH, Chief Health Equity Officer and Senior Vice President, American Medical Association
  • Lynne Holden, MD, Senior Associate Dean of Diversity and Inclusion, Albert Einstein College of Medicine
  • Israel Rocha, Chief Executive Officer, Cook County Health

The National Hispanic Foundation (NHHF) held its 20th Annual New York Hispanic Health Professional Student Scholarship Gala, in partnership with the United Health Foundation, on Nov. 30 at the Sheraton Times Square Hotel. During our Gala, we were proud to present the scholarship recipients from the Eastern United States, as well as the Hispanic Health Leadership Awardees who inspire us with their leadership for change in healthcare for our community.

Hispanics are the largest ethnic group in the United States, yet there is a dearth of Hispanic health professionals with cultural and linguistic skills to deliver quality care for this growing population. In addition, federal, state, local government, and private sector healthcare agencies have minimal Hispanic representation in top leadership positions that can develop policies and programs targeted to the Hispanic community. Since 2004, NHHF has responded to these challenges by awarding more than $1.9 million in scholarships to nearly 350 outstanding Hispanic health professional students for their exceptional academic performance, leadership, and commitment to caring for Hispanics.

We believe they are the future Hispanic leaders of our nation.



Click here to download photos from the gala!
Download gala program
For event questions, please email [email protected]