2021 LA Annual Hispanic Health Professional Student Scholarship Gala

NHHF Scholarship Recipients

ATTENTION ATTENDEES: NHHF will recognize the new COVID-19 vaccination guidance effective today from the Los Angeles County Public Health Department for indoor events and will require proof of the COVID-19 vaccination – either physical card or a photo of the card. If you have not been fully vaccinated, proof of a negative COVID-19 test, obtained 72 hours prior to the event, will be required. A person can be exempted from the mandate if they have medical conditions that restrict their ability to get vaccinated or a “sincerely held religious belief.” All are advised to wear a mask if not eating or drinking at the event. This statement applies to all attendees who have or will RSVP or plan to walk-in at the registration on the day of the event. We look forward to seeing you on Thursday, Nov. 18th.

RSVP to NHHF's NY Scholarship Gala - Dec. 2nd
Sponsorship Information
Ads Information
Sponsorship and Ads Registration 


Millennium Biltmore Hotel · November 18, 2021

Registration begins at 5:00PM PST

Reception: 6:30 to 7:30 p.m. PST |  Awards Gala: 7:30 to 11 p.m. PST 

For event questions, please contact Wanda Salcedo at (202) 760-3803, or Vito Gearity at (202) 899-6383. Or, email [email protected] & [email protected].

The National Hispanic Foundation (NHHF), the philanthropic arm of the National Hispanic Medical Association (NHMA), invites you to our 14th Annual California Hispanic Health Professional Student Scholarship Gala. During our Gala, we are proud to announce the scholarship recipients from the Western United States, as well as the Hispanic Health Leadership Awardees who inspire us with their leadership for change in healthcare for our community.

Hispanics are the largest ethnic group in the United States, yet there is a dearth of Hispanic health professionals with cultural and linguistic skills to deliver quality care for this growing population. In addition, federal, state, local government and private sector healthcare agencies have minimal Hispanic representation in top leadership positions that can develop policies and programs targeted to the Hispanic community. NHHF is responding to these challenges by developing this unique national scholarship program to reward students in health professional schools for exceptional academic performance, leadership, and commitment to serving the Hispanic community. We believe they are the future Hispanic leaders of our nation.

Scholarship Recipients:

  • Janett OrdonezUniversity of Texas Southwestern Medical School
  • Gabriel UrreolaUniversity of California Davis School of Medicine
  • Camila HurtadoUniversity of California Berkeley School of Public Health and University of California San Francisco School of Medicine Joint Medical Program
  • Raul SalazarUniversity of California Los Angeles David Geffen School of Medicine
  • Norma EspinozaUniversity of California Riverside School of Medicine
  • Aileen ArevaloCharles Drew University of Medicine and Sciences and University of California Los Angeles David Geffen School of Medicine
  • Ely UrbinaUniversity of Mary Hardin- Baylor Mayborn College of Health Sciences
  • Gisel VelasquezClaremont Graduate University School of Community and Global Health
  • Luis DelgadoUniversity of the Incarnate Word Feik School of Pharmacy
  • Sergio ChavezUniversity of Southern California Kenk School of Medicine
  • Carlos VillalvazoUniversity of California Los Angeles School of Dentistry

Hispanic Health Leadership Honorees:

  • The Honorable Alex Padilla - U.S. Senator for California
  • Carrie L. Byington, MD - Executive Vice President, University of California Health
  • John W. Graneto, D.O., M.Ed., FACEP, FAAP - Professor and Dean, College of Osteopathic Medicine, Vice-President for Health Affairs, California Health Sciences University
  • Antonio (Tony) Alamo, MD - Optum Care Chief Medical Director of Network Operations State of Neva

Run of Show:

5:30 pm – 6:30 pm NHHF Board of Directors & Scholar Recipients (Meet & Greet)

6:15 pm – 7:25 pm Reception with Mariachi Angeles              

7:30 pm - Dinner  

8:00 pm  Mark Diaz, MD - Opening Remarks 

8:05 pm  Elena Rios, MD Introduces UHF

8:10 pm - UHF Welcome Remarks

8:16 pm - Centene Welcome Remarks 

8:26 pm - Senator Padilla (Video Remarks)                           

8:30 pm - Carrie Byington, MD (Remarks)

8:36 pm - Dean John Graneto, DO (Remarks)                                    

8:42 pm - Tony Alamo, MD (Remarks)

9:15 pm - Scholars Receive Awards (Remarks + Pictures)

9:15 pm – 10:15 pm    Open Floor.